Crypt Wizard: updated for 2021 !

"EUO - Further evidence that Diabloesque games kill real role-playing games."

Moderator: EUO Moderators

User avatar
eggmceye
hello
Posts: 10454
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Crypt Wizard: updated for 2021 !

Post by eggmceye » Fri May 16, 2014 3:43 pm

CRYPT WIZARD!
updated 2021
cw.jpg
Crypt Wizard is a single player dungeon builder/RTS. It's aim is to be a 2d Dungeon keeper, or even a dwarf fortress lite, though recent changes make it more like a MOBA (such as LAUGHING OUT LOUD LIKE A MORON or DotA). Right now it's just a PC game ... It's written in Java, so can theoretucally be cross platform (tho right now windows only, but I have gotten it running on linux), and uses LWJGL and Slick 2d.

It's going to cost anywhere between $5-10 or something, depending on costs and polish.

website: http://cryptwiz.com
tutorial: http://cryptwiz.com/dev/tute.html

DOWNLOAD build 12: http://cryptwiz.com/files/cw.zip - updated Dec 12, 2021

You need to install java 8. Hopefully this will work with both 32 bit and 64 bit. When you run cryptwizard.exe and it complains about not finding java, it will take you to an Oracle download page, and from there hopefully it will install Java 8. If not, here is a link to an older java 8 32bit RE:
http://cryptwiz.com/files/jre-8u202-windows-i586.exe

Download and play and post your questions here!

help / faq / how to play
* read the tute http://cryptwiz.com/dev/tute.html UPDATED for 2021
* play the tute map scenario ! ...
* manual.doc is inside the zip UPDATED for 2021
* post thy questions and thou shalt receive answers and hopefully not abuse


:alarm: :alarm: MAJOR CHANGES for 2021 / build 12 :alarm: :alarm:

MAJOR CHANGES
* your wizard now has 3 spells you can unlock and cast: Heal, Sleep & Charm
-> Heal your friendlies
-> Sleep your enemies
-> Charm your enemies to make them your allies!
Unlock these spells them by building spell totems from life essence & stone totems

* all new tileset with help from 0x72 -> https://0x72.itch.io/
* added alchemist, at which you can make flesh golems

MINOR CHANGES
* new spell sounds
* added a 6th scenario, & rearranged/tweaked the others
* gfx cleanup, new mob tiles
* autoreloading tiles
* left ctrl + wheel to zoom
* added caveins as an option in random games
* pylons start with a 20sec sleep so they can't be used cheesily
* choose scenario screen now has clickable buttons
* added menu button to top right of hud
* added hero death sound
* added hero rez effects
* added hero & unit upgrade effects
* pavement/creep can only occur within limited walking distance of the parent pylon (ie can't spread thru walls)
* renamed/tiled sword to spear (it's bone)
* you can remove barracks improvements with deconstruct command (incase you place bow+pylactery, etc)
* meatshield renamed to bone armour, made at bonecrafter
* fixed explosions & poisoning not adding to wiz res time debuff
* wiz can see buried items and fancy rock thru walls up to radius 7 tiles
* added warnings/tooltips to delete room & resize room
* some units have visible weapon & armour upgrades
* tooltip on your units shows their upgrades
* new stockpiles must be adj to existing stockpiles

MAJOR CHANGES for 2017 / build 11
* added 5 playable scenarios that you should try out after completing the tute!
* removed requirement to reset barracks-spawner with spawnerskull - so now your army simply spawns all the time
* default AI of your army is to charge enemy portal blindly if they can find a path (now that they respawn for free) and the portal has been spotted
* scrapped turrets, but now pylons attack like turrets - PYLONS are now your defensive towers and your Farms
* wiz has auto ranged & melee attack!
* wiz respawning but delay in respawn time proportional to deaths
(this all adds up to more of a MOBA feel)

MINOR CHANGES
* disabled peon traits (they were all useless or annoying)
* disabled / removed coal
* scrapped iron / smelting
* armour is now bonecrafted
* sword is now bonecrafted
* disabled / cave ins
* buried items default shown but with ?
* scrapped infirmary
* went back to just euo style gfx for simplicity
* toned down the colours of your base (everything is kinda just purple now :ymca: unsure if like, but obviously it needs work)

older videos
9th build
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
LordMortiferus
MACRO > me
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by LordMortiferus » Fri May 16, 2014 5:04 pm

Just gave it a try. Very cool so far.
Have to play it longer to give actual feedback but one thing strikes me. Do you really need the buttons (dig/chop) and (unset dig) with their respective hotkeys? I remember that in DK the mouse cursor automatically changed to digging mode when you placed it over a wall and right click was for unsetting the dig order.

The nonsense text of the title card has a typo if that is actually possible for a nonsense text. It normally starts with "Lorem ipsum [..]"

User avatar
eggmceye
hello
Posts: 10454
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by eggmceye » Fri May 16, 2014 5:28 pm

Lorum ipsum :geek:
it's the latin that every web developer puts in as dummy copy when making a website :)

the ui is up for revision, and I'm not sure abt the buttons either

Holdway
Kodiak has probably banned me by now.
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by Holdway » Fri May 16, 2014 10:36 pm

Enjoying it a lot. Beat the tutorial and tried a real game. Quickly had a problem where my stockpile wasn't big enough and didn't have enough space to build another (was right next to a portal) so decided to restart on a huge map. Dug out a 5x5 area to make certain my stockpile had plenty of room only after digging it out noticed half of the room reverted back to being walls again. Thought I'd encountered a bug, so moved inside the room dug it out again and got ready to build the stockpile as soon as the room was dug out.

That's when I discovered it wasn't a bug, but rather a cave in, which put a very quick end to my crypt wizard. Could be a new record time for someone not trying to kill themselves!

Time survived: 58 seconds

Holdway
Kodiak has probably banned me by now.
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by Holdway » Sat May 17, 2014 3:52 pm

Some feedback which may or may not be useful.

I didn't feel the way you go about getting creatures worked all that satisfactory. Needing marble for spawns seemed weird and didn't like that when a creature dies you need to use a new spawner. I could be wrong but I think it's the case that there is a finite amount of marble in each game, which means if your monsters die you are losing something you can't replace.

Personally as your army is undead would feel it makes more sense to have a graveyard building which you put your corpses into, and after x amount of corpses deposited you can create a spawner skull, so that you don't have a finite number of replacements for dead creatures.

I liked the auto crafting where there is only one possible use for an item. If you added a secondary use for something, such as corpses being able to be turned to bones/brains as well as being put in a graveyard, I would favour the way the old 90's game Settlers (serf city in US) handled things where you allocate a percentage for each craft, ie set bones and graveyard each to 50% and half the corpses get butchered and the other half go to the graveyard.

User avatar
eggmceye
hello
Posts: 10454
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by eggmceye » Wed May 21, 2014 12:09 pm

yes,

regarding marble:
* I don't particularly care for it being called 'marble'
* I personally think the fact that it limits infinite respawning is an ok mechanic - this requirement could be disabled though, as part of a game setup option - and have spawners auto reset
* I do like the idea of recycling corpses - that is tentatively what the bonecrafter and alchemist are for

User avatar
LordMortiferus
MACRO > me
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by LordMortiferus » Tue Jun 03, 2014 3:57 am

A bit more feedback:
#typo in tutorial "craft a pedestal" Quote:" You will one of these to build[..]"
#7 dwarfs crashes client

#resizeable window mode
#scaling of sprites and text with window size or in fullscreen mode
#dir-keyboard in put is pretty fast and feels inaccurate
#maybe always show impenetrable rock on the whole map, like in Dungeon Keeper, to make designing the dungeon easier.
#close build/crafting windows when pressing "e" to dig

User avatar
eggmceye
hello
Posts: 10454
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by eggmceye » Tue Jun 03, 2014 3:22 pm

thanks morty
Just posted an update: build 10 http://cryptwiz.com/files/cw.zip

* basically the same thing with more gui buttons and select lists in the game set up screens
* fixed the 7 dwarf crash
* the purple undiggable rock is always visible

if you are updating, you can just cut/paste the cryptwizard.exe file from the zip into your game directory

User avatar
ibrowniedefender
on lolpatrol
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:49 am
Location: USA

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by ibrowniedefender » Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:36 am

so, i tried to play. it loads up fine and whatnot. however when i try to play and the map loads, theres black lines across all the tiles (thick. horizontal. lines.)
so i cant see what im doing, do you know of a way to fix this?

User avatar
eggmceye
hello
Posts: 10454
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by eggmceye » Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:38 am

screenshot?

User avatar
ibrowniedefender
on lolpatrol
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:49 am
Location: USA

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by ibrowniedefender » Fri Jun 06, 2014 7:21 am

from what i can tell the other screens work just fine, the tileset looks okay too

EDIT* another question, is there a way to claim tiles manually? sometimes it gets stuck and doesnt change the dirt floors
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
eggmceye
hello
Posts: 10454
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by eggmceye » Fri Jun 06, 2014 7:41 am

that's fucked up
have you updated java lately?

User avatar
LordMortiferus
MACRO > me
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by LordMortiferus » Fri Jun 06, 2014 5:32 pm

ibrowniedefender wrote:so, i tried to play. it loads up fine and whatnot. however when i try to play and the map loads, theres black lines across all the tiles (thick. horizontal. lines.)
so i cant see what im doing, do you know of a way to fix this?
Had the same problem on my 8 year old laptop (XP, crappy old intel GFX card with either no supporting pixel shader or ver. 2.0)
Java should have been up to date.

User avatar
eggmceye
hello
Posts: 10454
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by eggmceye » Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:13 pm

that's def not a programming fault
either drivers, old ass hw or libraries ... humf

User avatar
LordMortiferus
MACRO > me
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by LordMortiferus » Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:48 pm

Definitely old hardware with drivers intel does not bother to update anymore. If you care I can try new/other drivers for the card as well as tweaking the cards settings and give it another try - otherwise I leave that machine to rot in the corner. Btw the card is from the GMA 900 series with a 915GM/GMS, 910GL chipset supporting pixel shader 2.0, dx 9.0 as well as vertexshader 2.0

User avatar
1[WoWz]
MACRO > me
Posts: 840
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:48 pm
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by 1[WoWz] » Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:17 am

LordMortiferus wrote:Definitely old hardware with drivers intel does not bother to update anymore. If you care I can try new/other drivers for the card as well as tweaking the cards settings and give it another try - otherwise I leave that machine to rot in the corner. Btw the card is from the GMA 900 series with a 915GM/GMS, 910GL chipset supporting pixel shader 2.0, dx 9.0 as well as vertexshader 2.0
Yes, yes, I know some of these words X-D
IGN: 1

User avatar
eggmceye
hello
Posts: 10454
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by eggmceye » Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:47 am

I know the world old ...

User avatar
ibrowniedefender
on lolpatrol
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:49 am
Location: USA

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by ibrowniedefender » Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:49 am

yeah. not my prosessors/gfx card's fault :p let me update java
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
treos
I once posted in TFIOOC!
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:23 am

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by treos » Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:23 pm

ah, nevermind what i was going to say. my laptop isn't as ancient as yours, ibrowniedefender, and i think my java is up to date. haven't seen any games or programs ask me to update it or any alerts in a while. yet the game comes up with the same black lines as yours and yes laptop here too but not 8 years old, 2012 iirc.

i could post a copy of that dxdiag thing if anyone thinks it'd help sort any problems out.

and lastly, when are laptops in general NOT crappy?! desktop, even a crummy windows 7 one, ALWAYS beats a laptop :( and is something i STILL don't have. (looking for one has become...well with this laptop still functioning so i don't absolutely require a new desktop but still... would be nice >.>)

DAMN YOU MICROSOFT, YOU KILLED YOUR OWN BEST OPERATING SYSTEM EVER! :fp: :mad:

User avatar
Keighn
Stop posting already --;
Posts: 5435
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Hey.... pssttt Back in Orgeon

Re: Crypt Wizard: forums exclusive demo

Post by Keighn » Sun Jun 29, 2014 4:12 am

Can't play crypt wizard on my old win xp machine. Crappy memory and shitty cards or its on board. Meh damn boat anchor can't even take iPhone pics. Ill try to purchase a win 7 laptop from best buy when I go there and ask for online prices. I saved a printout dron June first.

I can okay my emus and escape from the vault though. Guess ill finish it on multiple alts.
ZUPS!!!!

Post Reply